Bring forth the new

Societies and divisions appoint, elect officers and board members

From staff reports

A number of IIE’s societies and divisions have elected or appointed new officers for 2012-2013.

Computer and Information Systems Division

The division elected Seokcheon Lee, an assistant professor at Purdue University, as president-elect.

The division also has three new directors on its board for 2012-2014: Alaster Nyaude, a senior process engineer with Heraeus Tenevo LLC; Amarnath “Andy” Banerjee, an associate professor at Texas A&M University; and Bradley University assistant professor John Jung-Woon Yoo.

Construction Division

Division President Lincoln Forbes has appointed Matt Horvat as president-elect. Horvat is process improvement coordinator for PeaceHealth Medical Group.

Three division members have been appointed as new directors: Isabelina Nahmens and Laura Ikuma, both assistant professors at Louisiana State University; and George P. Gardner, state partnering coordinator of the Virginia Department of Transportation.

Engineering Economy Division

Mingzhou Jin was elected communications director. The associate professor at the University of Tennessee at Knoxville will serve in a four-year succession cycle, progressing from communications director to program chair to president and to immediate past president.

The division’s new board member for 2012-2014 is M. Affan Badar, chair and professor at Indiana State University. Leland Blank will serve as Wellington Award Committee Chair this year, and Richard Bernhard will serve on the Wellington Award Committee for 2012-2015.

Lean Division

The division voted Aman Sapra, a senior project manager of inventory and supply chain strategy at St. Onge Co., in as president-elect.

New directors, who will serve on the board from 2012 to 2014, are Valentine Boving, senior quality engineer at MD Anderson Cancer Center, Worcester Polytechnic Institute associate professor Sharon Johnson and Joseph Ogabi of Triumph AeroStructures, Vought Aircraft Division.

Operations Research Division

John Fowler became president-elect. The professor at Arizona State University also is editor-in-chief of IIE Transactions on Healthcare Systems Engineering.

Two new directors will serve on the board from 2012 to 2014. They are Sandra Eksioglu, assistant professor at Mississippi State University, and Scott Grasman, professor and department head of industrial and systems engineering at Rochester Institute of Technology.

Process Industries Division

Rick Hulse, director of business development at Xonitek, was appointed president-elect. The division’s new secretary-treasurer is Martin Stein, president of Martin Stein Associates.

Quality Control and Reliability Engineering Division

Voters chose Joseph J. Pignatiello Jr., professor of operations research and head of the Department of Operational Sciences at the Air Force Institute of Technology, as president-elect.

Three new directors joined the board for the years 2012-2014. They are Thomas Pinson, president of Confinia Emergency Services; Zhenya Kong, assistant professor at Oklahoma State University; and Luis Torres-Acosta, president of PENTA Consulting.

Society for Health Systems

SHS elected Todd Schneider for president-elect; he is project manager for process excellence at Ohio Health.

Ralph Franco will be a director from 2012 to 2014. He works in the Office of the Chief of Staff, U.S. Army Medical Department Center and School, Fort Sam Houston.

New directors Rudy Santacroce and Joyce Siegele will serve on the board from 2012 to 2015. Santacroce is director of management engineering consulting services for Shands HealthCare. Siegele is productivity improvement manager for Northside Hospital.

Society for Engineering Management Systems

SEMS members selected Michele Dekelbaum as president-elect. Dekelbaum is the corporate director of business performance excellence and project management at Baylor Health Care System.

Alexandra Medina-Borja and Sreekanth Ramakrishnan joined the SEMS board as new directors for 2012-2015. Medina-Borja is an assistant professor at the University of Puerto Rico. Ramakrishnan is advisory engineer/scientist and a learning specialist at IBM Corp.’s Learning/Talent organization.

© 2016 Institute of Industrial Engineers. All rights reserved.