Engineering Economy (EE) Wellington Award

The Wellington Award recognizes outstanding contributions in the field of engineering economy. The award is named after Arthur M. Wellington, author of The Economic Theory of Railroad Location, in 1887.

Evaluations are based on the following criteria:

  • Original contributions to the profession
    • Publications (articles, books, monographs)
    • Research (theoretical development, methodological innovation)
    • Standardization (notation, methods, formats)
  • Recognition of service to the profession
    • Leadership in organizations (as officer, editor, program chair, committee chair)
    • Involvement in activities (professional organizations, private industry, government, development of new organizations)
    • Contribution to the profession (book review, case studies, bibliographies, abstracts, interest tables, calculating devices)
    • Length and quality of service
  • Application of engineering economy
  • Proper application of principles
  • Scope and importance of application
  • Originality
  • Presentation

The eligibility is determined by a four-member selection panel. Whenever possible, academia, government and private industry will be represented in the panel, with the immediate past division director as the fourth member. Each appointed member shall serve a three-year term. Terms will be staggered with one member being replaced annually.

The selection panel will be responsible for:

  • Identifying and selecting potential recipients.
  • Preparing the description of the service or achievements for which the award is being presented.
  • Notifying the recipient in sufficient time to allow attendance at the annual conference.
  • Preparing the news release announcement to be sent to appropriate media outlets.

The plaque will be presented at the IIE Annual Conference & Expo, May 21-24, 2016 in Anaheim, Calif. The winner will be notified by TBD.

2015 Winner

Kenneth Case
Oklahoma State University

2014 Winner

John White
University of Arkansas

Wellington Award Winners 

Engineering Economy Division Page 

© 2016 Institute of Industrial Engineers. All rights reserved.