Lean Student Paper Competition winners announced

IIE Lean Division is pleased to announce the winners of the fifth Lean Student Paper Competition sponsored by J T. and Carol S. Black. The competition recognizes outstanding papers in the field of lean research and practices.

2011 Winners:

First place goes to Fabiola Garza, Nancy López and Carolina Guerra, Departamento de Ingeniería, Universidad de Monterrey, Nuevo León, México for their paper, "Eliminating Warehousing Waste: An Application."

Second place is awarded to Rohan Sakhardande, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Auburn University, Auburn, Ala., for his paper, "A Performance Comparison between Kanban and CONWIP through Simulation."

Third place is awarded to Fernando de Jesús Duarte Martínez, Daniela Berenice Jasso Zúñiga, María Patricia Martínez López, and Marco Antonio González Herrera, Departamento de Ingeniería Industrial, Instituto Tecnológico de San Luis Potosí, San Luis Potosí, México for their paper, "Production capacity increase at Combo area (AC+EMD) due to TFR Combo project."

Winning papers will be presented at the 61st Annual IIE Conference & Expo in Reno, Nev., in May.

2010 Winners:

First place is awarded to Mariza Siller, Jair Onofre and Taide Sanchez of Universidad de Monterrey, Monterrey, Mexico, for their paper, "Reducing Order Cycle Time Through a TOC-Lean Approach: A Case Study."

Second place is awarded to Cecilia Martínez of Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas, for her paper, "A Coordination Mechanism for Lean Product Development."

Third place is awarded to Monica Villareal and Tuba Yilmaz of Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, for their paper, "A Pediatric Intensive Care Unit Rounding Process Lean Transformation."

© 2016 Institute of Industrial Engineers. All rights reserved.