Healthcare Systems Process Improvement 2016
Join SHS

Keynote Speakers 

Thursday, Feb. 19


Kim Barnas 

Kim Barnas
Faculty, ThedaCare Center for Healthcare Value
Author, Beyond Heroes, A Lean Management System for Healthcare 

Kim Barnas has an M.S. in healthcare administration and served as a senior vice president of ThedaCare and president of Appleton Medical Center and Theda Clark Medical Center. Barnas has enjoyed the opportunities provided by ThedaCare as they have been on their lean journey for the past nine years. The ThedaCare Improvement System (LEAN) path started with value stream mapping followed by improvement events and projects. She was involved in leading two of the initial value streams for Obstetrics and Cancer Services.

As the journey continued, a new challenge emerged – the need for a systematic method to sustain improvement, clarify daily continuous improvement opportunities and deliver on strategic deployment. To meet this need, Barnas and her team led the development of a lean management system designed to deliver improved performance through a predictable process that develops leaders, identifies defects, solves problems and develops people.

In 2014, Barnas wrote the book Beyond Heroes, A Lean Management System for Healthcare, based on this journey.

Friday, Feb. 20

Dr. Chuck Webster 

Dr. Chuck Webster
EHR Workflow Inc.

Dr. Chuck Webster has degrees in accountancy, industrial engineering, intelligent systems and medicine. He earned his degree in medicine at the University of Chicago. Webster designed the first undergraduate program in medical informatics, was a software architect in a hospital MIS department, and also vice president and chief medical informatics officer for an EHR vendor for more than a decade. He has also helped three healthcare organizations win the HIMSS Davies Award and is a judge for the annual Workflow Management Coalition Awards for Excellence in BPM and Workflow and Awards for Case Management.

Webster is a ceaseless evangelist for process-aware technologies in healthcare, including workflow management systems, business process management and dynamic and adaptive case management. Webster tweets from @wareFLO and maintains numerous websites including EHR Workflow Management Systems, Healthcare Business Process Management and People and Organizations Improving Healthcare with Health Information Technology.

Please join with Chuck to spread the message: Viva la workflow!