Ergo Cup®/Awards

Operations Research Division

Members apply mathematics and sophisticated computer programs to solve engineering problems. Some members work in areas such as forecasting, statistical analysis and simulation. Operations Research News, an e-mail newsletter sent periodically to all members, includes articles on simulation developments and applications, and statistical process control as well as other points of interest.

Division bylaws updated

The updated division bylaws were approved by the Operations Research Division professional membership on May 24, 2011. To view the Division bylaws, click here.

President elect and Board members elected

Sandra Eksiouglu, associate professor at Clemson University, will serve as president-elect for the division. Sandra is a senior member of IIE, and has served as an Operations Research board member since 2012. She co-chaired the Service Systems Track in 2013 and 2014, and co-chaired the Engineering Education Track in 2009. Sandra chaired a number of sessions and presented in several occasions at the IIE Annual Conference & Expo events. Elected to the board of directors to serve two-year terms: Chase Rainwater, assistant professor, University of Arkansas; and Ruben Proano, assistant professor, Rochester Institute of Technology.

Division Newsletters

Spring 2015

2015 OR Teaching Award

Annual Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Operations Research
Balabhaskar Balasundaram (left), Andrea Lewis and Sunderesh HeraguBalabhaskar Balasundaram ("Dr. Baski"), Ph.D., from the School of Industrial Engineering and Management at Oklahoma State University is the recipient of the 2015 Award for Excellence in the Teaching of Operations Research (OR). The award was presented at the 2015 IIE Annual IE Conference and Expo in Nashville, Tennessee. Baski taught several OR classes in the last five years at Oklahoma State. His nomination included comments such as, "Needless to say, engaging students in modeling — the art and science of creating optimization models is challenging for OR teachers, and at the same time of vital importance to create successful practitioners."

Pictured: Baski (left) is shown with senior design student Andrea Lewis, first place winner at the IIE South Central regional conference, and Sunderesh Heragu school head nominator.

  • 2014 Winner: Eric Moreno-Centeno, Texas A&M University
  • 2013 Winner: Alex Savachkin, University of South Florida
  • 2012 Winner: Archis Ghate, University of Washington
  •  Winners 2004-2011 

2015 ISERC Best Paper Award

Ashley Anhalt and Dr. Jeffrey Kharoufeh, University of Pittsburgh, were recipients of the 2015 Operations Research Division ISERC Best Paper Award. Their winning paper: "Comparative Study of Lung Cancer Screening Policies and Cost Impacts."

IERC Best Paper Past Winners 

New! 2015 ISERC Student Research Dissemination Award

Ms. Shruthi Agrawal, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India. Paper: "Robustness Analysis of Indian Airport Network: A Graph Analysis Approach." Co-authors Deepak Agrawal, Cheng-Bang Chen, Kenneth Hutchinson, Dr. Sounar Kumara, Pennsylvania State University.

Operations Research Division mission

The mission of the division shall be to support its members by fostering networks, offering programs and maintaining resources that represent their core competencies and/or areas of specialized practice.

Operations Research Division goals

These five goals are essential to addressing IIE’s mission:

  • Develop, maintain and disseminate a body of technical knowledge.
  • Provide a forum for technical networking.
  • Be perceived as the voice of the technical specialty.
  • Collaborate with IIE to support the mission of the Institute, provide member value and promote the discipline.
  • Work with the NLC to establish a set of metrics that track society and division activities.

Operations Research Division Board

The strength of IIE is in its members, who volunteer to serve on boards such as this one.