Communities & Groups
Publications & Resources
Career Center

Lean Division Student Paper Competition

Sponsored by J T. and the Late Carol Black

The eighth annual Lean Division Student Paper Competition will be held to honor outstanding papers in the field of lean research and practices. The papers should demonstrate or describe the use of techniques such as simulation, lean principle implementation, alternative designs, kaizen implementation, etc. Both undergraduate and graduate students and design teams are invited to submit papers. The award will be given each year at the IIE Annual Conference & Expo if there is a suitable recipient.

Three awards may be given upon recommendation of the selection committee. The winners must present their papers in the ISERC Lean Systems Track at the 2014 IIE Annual Conference & Expo, May 31-June 3, 2014, in Montreal, QC, Canada. All authors will receive a certificate stating place awarded. The first place winner will be presented at the annual Honors & Awards Banquet. There will be reserved seating at the Honors & Awards Banquet for the lead author first place winner. The names will not be announced on Monday evening. The names will be announced before the Tuesday morning keynote address. Their names will be on the scrolling Powerpoint Monday and Tuesday mornings as people enter the ballroom for the keynote speakers. The first place winner paper will be included in the Honors & Awards Banquet Program. The lead authors of the first-, second- and third-place papers will receive the following awards, which they may share with any co-authors at their discretion:

  • First place: $600
  • Second place: $300
  • Third place: $100

Eligibility Criteria:

  • The applicant must be a full time student at the time of submission.
  • Research must have been conducted while the applicant was a student.
  • The paper must present original research results.
  • The paper must not have won or been considered for an award in another competition.
  • At least one author must be an IIE member and present the paper at the IIE Annual Conference & Expo.
  • Winning papers will appear on the IIE lean division website.
  • Authors will be asked to sign an ethics statement stating they are full time students and the research and writing are their own work.
  • Advising by a non-student is allowed, such as an academic or industry advisor. However, only students can be authors or co-authors.

Important Dates - Deadline extended to Feb. 25:

Deadline for submission of papers: Feb. 25
Three finalists will be notified: March 7

Paper Guidelines:

Authors must follow the ISERC 2014 paper guidelines since the winning papers will be published in the ISERC proceedings. The paper format guidelines will be available at http://www.xcdsystem.com/iserc2013/.


Each paper must be submitted in electronic format (PDF file) to the committee co-chairs, Aman Sapra and Joseph Ogabi. Submission Form/Ethical Statement 

2013 Winners

1st Place: Rehab Ali, Nile University
Title: Investigating the Impact of the Dynamics Associated with Increasing Responsiveness Level on Leanness

2nd Place: Javier Arriaga, Ciro Cardenas, Juan-Pablo Rivera, Juan-Carlos Sada and Humberto Campos, Universidad de Monterrey
Title: A Lean Route to Increase Transportation Agility and Food Freshness

3rd Place: Kshitij Singh Minhas, Siucheuk Fung, Brenda Souza, Shivang Shah and Minh Ngoc Nguyen, Rutgers University
Title: Lean Six Sigma Study of Rutgers Mail Distribution

Past Winners 

Lean Division page 

Print: Share: