Communities & Groups
Publications & Resources
Career Center

The Lean Division Best Practice Competition

The Lean Division of IISE is launching its sixth industry best practice award and welcomes applications from organizational teams for the Lean Division Best Practice Award 2016.

The Lean Division Best Practice Award recognizes organizations for innovative and effective implementation of lean principles and practices that deliver exemplary business performance improvement. IISE will conduct the award competition to promote successful implementation of lean by recognizing best in class industries and sharing their stories with others. This is a very prestigious award for a team and their industry.

The award will be bestowed to the top three teams and be presented at the IIE Annual Conference & Expo 2016, May 21-24 in Anaheim, Calif.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Any team, two or more members, of any organization who want to showcase their successful implementation of lean concepts
  • The team must demonstrate innovative uses of lean tools and techniques for its measurable outcomes
  • There is no limit on the number of entries from an organization

Awarding Process

  • All entries will be pre-screened to select up to eight finalist teams
  • All finalist teams will be required to attend the IIE Annual Conference & Expo and present their cases
  • Top three teams will be selected and announced at the Honors & Awards Banquet of the IIE Annual Conference & Expo

Evaluation Criteria

  • The lean implementation initiative is innovative
  • The lean implementation initiative has clear measurable performance objectives and they were met
  • The lean implementation approach is simple and straightforward
  • The lean implementation initiative used lean tools and techniques
  • The lean implementation initiative derived significant and measurable outcomes such as cost reduction, lead time reduction, quality improvement, safety improvement, etc.
  • The lean implementation is sustainable
  • The quality of the presentation is excellent including problem statement, clear descriptions and metrics with visuals

Submission Process

To provide necessary detail and ensure consistency in judging, prepare the narrative portion of the entry according to the respective requirements on the submission form. Your narrative document must be a maximum of five standard pages using a minimum font size of 10 points. Supporting materials or samples may be included if they are directly applicable to your entry, however, they will not be returned. You may also include a support letter from the top management highlighting the scope, impact and sustainability of the lean project.

Entries Should Include

  • A completed submission form (download form) Submission Form 
  • Any relevant supporting materials
  • Credentials of team members
  • Support letter from top management

The complete application package is due to the chair of the committee by Feb. 29. Applicants must send their submissions electronically – preferably as an email attachment. In case of large electronic documents, applicants may upload them in an online repository (i.e. www.yousendit.com) and provide the access to the chair of the committee. Finalists will be notified by March 7. Submit your applications to md.sarder@usm.edu.

2016 Committee Chair

MD Sarder
University of Southern Mississippi

2015 Winners

First place
Lynne Smith, Lauren Hudspeth and Jessica Hoffman
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
"Investment Workflow: An Innovative Application of Lean in Philanthropy"

Second place
Sean Roche and Ken McClannon
Nypro Healthcare, Ireland
"Development of a New Nypro Healthcare Manufacturing Facility"

Third place
Csilla Papp and Aron Mark Bobvos
Robert Bosch Power Tool Kft., Hungary
"Let's Make it Lean! Lean Transformation as the Key Success Factor for Sustainable Growth"

2014 Winners

First place
Jack Chen and Yufeng Xu
Jabil Co.
"Manufacturing Process Optimization Program"

Second place
Paula Liotine and Mark Nash
American Fidelity Assurance
"Creating a Lean Culture in the Insurance Industry"

Third place
Sabina Gerard
Tata Consultancy Services
"Herculean - The Innovative Lean Deployment Program"

2013 Winners

First place
Hemantha Perera and Lalith Herath
MAS Linea Aqua
"Manufacturing Practices for Operational Excellence in the Apparel Industry"

Second place
Parviz Kheirkhah and Lucy Moyer
MD Anderson Cancer Center
"Pharmacy Go Lean: An Initiative in Lean Culture"

Third place
Julie Sisson and Joe Giorgianni
Harris Corporation
"Implementing Lean Supplier Pull Systems via Supplier Portal"

Past Winners 

Lean Division Page 

Print: Share: